good friday

Yesterday early morning’s visit to the waterfront to capture the sunrise was fairly successful, despite pulling up just after the sun peaked it’s head over the horizon. It’s amazing what you can accomplish when you don’t have to go to work, or analyse and correct children’s work when you get home. As bizarre as it sounds, not having to get up for work, means you have the chance to get up early and photograph the amazing sights that we usually sleep through, or just drive past.

If I didn’t have private school fees, and a mortgage to pay, I’d totally give up teaching, which I love, to become a ‘photographer’. As in, I would be happy to still do relief teaching, because then I’d still get to hang out with kids, who inject a bit of reality and fun into the every day, and I can call myself a photographer now, because it’s something I also love to do and I do a lot of, but to get paid for taking photos, or even not getting paid, but simply having the time to just head out and take photos every day, rain, hail or shine. Because there is always something to photograph. Even now, as I look out the window and watch the daylight fade, after an unusually hot Good Friday, and the stormy Autumn weather roll in, I’d like to pick up my camera and head out, just because the light is nice. Well, not what you would normally call nice, but my photographer’s eye sees the colours… or lack thereof and pictures the image on a screen or in a frame. Those who share my passion will understand what I’m trying, probably quite unsuccessfully, to say.

Anyway, I’ve been checking out other people’s photog blogs, and am amazed, awed, inspired and disheartened by their skill and stunning photos and how much I still have to learn. Here’s some of yesterday’s shots. I’m pretty happy with them, although I know I’ll see someone else’s sunrise photo and think “why can’t I get shots like that”, but let me know what you think.

One thought on “good friday

Leave a Reply

